The Publishing Division is responsible for the Group's newspaper publishing and associated activities in Cumbria, Northumberland, northern Lancashire and Scotland. The main publishing centres are based at Carlisle, Barrow-in-Furness and Hexham, with other offices in the principal towns of the region.

The Division publishes two daily evening newspapers, five paid-for weeklies, and a range of free newspapers, magazines and niche publications. It also has a thriving new media business, and each of the papers has their own website.